The Word “Love”

Kissing Toads

Since yesterday was Valentine’s Day, I’ve been thinking a lot about love. Not being in love, or all the people I love. Just as a word: “love.” The word love fails me. It means too much and yet too little all at the same time. It can be the heaviest word, like saying “I love you” for the first time, or it can be a weightless, useless word, like saying “I love my Prada backpack.”

So, I decided to actually look up the word love, and see what it means, officially in the dictionary:

“love

noun

  1. a profoundly tender, passionate affection for another person.
    2. a feeling of warm personal attachment or deep affection, as for a parent, child, or friend.
    3. sexual passion or desire.
    4. a person toward whom love is felt; beloved person; sweetheart.
    5 (used in direct address as a term of endearment, affection, or the…

View original post 540 more words

Leave a Reply

